Royal Columbian Hospital and Eagle Ridge Hospital


Be sure to click the red links to see the full articles

Clinical Faculty Award for Career Excellence in Clinical Teaching 2016

We are delighted to inform everyone that...  Dr. Barry Miller has won the 2016 Clinical Faculty Award for Career Excellence in Clinical Teaching

Dr. Miller has been a member of the Royal Columbian Physician group since 1981, teaching for UBC for 34 years.  The Emergency Medicine group at Royal Columbian and Eagle Ridge Hospitals has a long and proud teaching history, and Dr. Miller has always been a core member of the team.  Over his career, he has literally taught thousands of medical students and residents, so back in early January of 2016 our group decided to nominate Dr. Miller for this award because we sincerely believed that he had contributed a tremendous amount to furthering the education of British Columbia‚Äôs doctors, and he has certainly been a superb influence on and example to its current educators.  The nomination process was definitely a trip down memory lane and we enjoyed the memories so much that we actually turned it into a specially bound booklet and presented it to Dr. Miller during his retirement party with room for signatures and well wishes at the back.


Clinical Teacher of the Year Award | 2015 - 2016

On April 27th during the RCH EM Grand Rounds session Dr. Nicolle Holm (R4) and Dr. Wesley Jang (R4) played one of the best games of 20 Questions that we have heard in quite a while.  Their questions had the audience guessing and almost crying with laughter.  They definitely made sure we were all listening.  Then finally, they made the big reveal and presented on behalf of the group of residents,
Dr. Tom Green with this year's Clinical Teacher of the Year Award.  

The Clinical Teacher of the Year Award is given to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the emergency medicine residency program or the betterment of our EM residents.  Important qualities include leadership skills, effective teaching, contagious enthusiasm, innovation and role modelling.
Here is the award presentation  complete with the 20 questions describing what a great role model and inspiration Dr. Green is and what makes him the type of physician we, one day hope to become.  

Thank you Dr. Green!

Herb Parkin Award - 1st Annual (2016)

We are very pleased to announce Dr. Anthony Bryson (R2) as our first annual winner of the Herb Parkin Award.  Anthony designed and taught the curriculum for pre-hospital ultrasound for BC Ambulance Critical Care Paramedics.  Currently the paramedics are being assessed for image acquisition, with the goal to have them use their skills to further advance pre-hospital care in British Columbia.

Here is a link so you can watch the video  of Dr. Caroline Tyson presenting the winner.

Here is what our CEPA Group was up to at CAEP 2017

The Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians Conference, was held from June 3 - June 7, 2017 at the Whistler Conference Centre.  Here are some of the highlights from our group!  Way to go everyone.